Unfollowed

Unfollowed

I unfollowed someone on Instagram yesterday because of her pregnancy announcement. 

In my defence, I never blocked her so you know – progress. 

We used to work together and it’s not that I’m unhappy for her – I just don’t want to see the picture updates. I don’t want to see the scans, the bumps, the pram, the clothes she’s buying. I don’t want to see them. Not yet. 

I felt kind of down for a few minutes – Ok 10 maybe – and then do you know what? 

I was okay.  

Totally fine actually (I still didn’t follow her again, but that’s neither here nor there). But I think that’s okay, I think that’s normal. I won’t sit here and lie to you that it’s easy to hear of pregnancies, or to look at people’s social media photos because it’s not easy. I don’t think it ever will be. But it also doesn’t make me feel the way it used to, and that has to be a good thing doesn’t it? 

It’s okay to be a little selfish at times, and it’s ok to not always be nice to everyone. You need to do what makes you feel good. Or what makes you feel even just a little bit better. 

I know I’ve earned the right to be a little selfish sometimes. Fuck it. Fuck everyone else’s opinions. Do what you want to do. 

15 thoughts on “Unfollowed

  1. Two of my female cousin’s are pregnant with their second. I have one child myself but suffer from secondary infertility so it kills me to have to see their Facebook updates and growing bumps. I haven’t liked or commented on a single one. I want to be happy for them, but it hurts. I think it’s normal not to want to see other people have child bearing success when you yourself are struggling. I haven’t done any unfriending, but I may have to block them for my own self preservation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I dont have facebook but when I did use it, I seem to remember an option for “hiding” people – so you wouldn’t see updates but they’d still be on your friend list! Its a good idea when you’re struggling! like you say, its not like you’re intentionally not being happy for them – it’s just hard to see sometimes. Of course you cant blame people for being excited but you also can’t ALWAYS be excited for them either – sometimes it does hurt.

      Like

    1. See, I ithink that’s why – we’re obviously at the age where our friends and our friends of friends are having babies, so it just seems to be around you constantly! I’m glad I’m not the only one who does this though… and I’m glad we’re not ashamed to admit it 🙂
      We’re still nice people!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Can totally sympathise here. Around the time we were waiting/going fo tests I took a hissy fit one night and delted facebook as I was just so thoroughly pissed off at seeing bloody scan photos!!!! You just need to do what gets you by, during this time you need to be about self care and looking after your mental health so if that’s what helps then do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s one of the reasons I hardly go on facebook anymore… too many of my friends are posting pregnancy/baby pics. So far my instagram is mostly safe, but I’m sure it’ll change with time. I’m glad to have connected with you on here! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your comment! Glad u took the time to read my page 🙂 It’s nice knowing I’m not the only one that does this.. for a while I thought maybe i was being a bit unfair.. but its obv just the way some of us cope!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve unfollowed many for the exact same reasons! I just posted a social media rant without even seeing this — you’re nicer, I just sounded grumpy 😉 — but this really speaks to me, and clearly to others as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha oh believe me, previous posts have been much more grumpy 😂😂 i actually dont even have facebook anymore, and it’s easier to unfollow people on instagram without them realising haha!

      Like

Leave a comment