No Valentine’s Cards

No Valentine’s Cards

image

When I was in my first years of high school I was always known more as the funny one rather than the pretty one. I was always just friends with the boys n for the most part I didn’t really mind. I was always a bit different and had this huge ginger mane that I had no clue what to do with. Not exactly a good look.

I remember Valentine’s Day coming round and always knowing that I probably wouldn’t get a card. I wasn’t massively bothered but still, I kind of hoped. Let myself get clouded by the false hope and would become a little bit excited. Then I’d tell myself that it didn’t matter. It was only a fucking card Nicola!

When I turned 15, I went to the Under-18 clubs, embraced my hair, got boobs and got a boyfriend.

I’d waited a few years for my Valentine’s cards then suddenly found myself surrounded by them (OK.. well I got a few, they weren’t exactly dripping from the ceiling)

This is pretty much how I feel about the whole trying to conceive cycle. Like I’m waiting and hoping to just get pregnant, knowing deep down that I prob won’t be getting the positive just yet. Letting the false hope get the better of me.

I know that one day I’m going to get what I’ve been waiting for.. it just feels like I’m back in school again, feeling a bit left out.

(Yeah…My period turned up today. Just to clarify that)

One thought on “No Valentine’s Cards

  1. I get what you’re saying and have thought of that myself. With me I’ve always taken a little more time to find myself. Like it took me a lot longer to find my career and to find my niche in life…but it was worth the wait! Maybe it’s just going to take some time to get the family I want…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

